Competition and Consumer Act 2010

By : 6clicks
The Act is the legislative vehicle for competition law in Australia, and seeks to promote competition, fair trading as well as providing protection for consumers.
In stock


The Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (CCA) covers most areas of the market: the relationships between suppliers, wholesalers, retailers, and consumers. Its purpose is to enhance the welfare of Australians by promoting fair trading and competition, and through the provision of consumer protections.

Broadly, it covers:

- product safety and labelling

- unfair market practices

- price monitoring

- industry codes

- industry regulation – airports, electricity, gas, telecommunications

- mergers and acquisitions.

Main sections of the CCA:

Part IIIA - third party access to nationally significant, essential facilities

- Part IV - anti-competitive practices

- Part IVB - industry codes of conduct

= Part VI - enforcement and remedies

- Part VII - authorisations, notifications and class exemptions

- Part VIIA - price monitoring and surveillance relating to industries or businesses declared by the Australian Government

- Part X - international liner cargo shipping

- Part XI - application of ACL as a law of the Commonwealth

- Part XIB - anti-competitive conduct in telecommunications

- Part XIC - access to services for telecommunications

- Part XICA - prohibited conduct in the energy market

- Schedule 2 - the Australian Consumer Law:

The Australian Consumer Law (Schedule 2 of the CCA) - misleading or deceptive conduct, unconscionable conduct, unfair practices, conditions and warranties, product safety and information, the liability of manufacturers for goods with safety defects offences, country of origin representations.

Getting Started

Click "Book a demo" and our team will provide you with an overview of our content library within the 6clicks GRC platform.

More Information

More Information
Jurisdiction Australia
Type Laws or related obligations